The Crown House Hotel

Saffron Walden, Essex

Secure Booking Online

Instant Confirmation

Check-in Date
Nights
#Rooms
 
Room 1
Adults
Children
Room 2
Room 3
Average Guest Rating for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Rooms:
4.1
Value:
4.2
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Facilities:
4.0
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating:
4.3
From 61 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next
Eric
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Staff friendly helpfull"
a good base for local attractions... Read more
"Staff friendly helpfull"
a good base for local attractions Read less
Likes:
helpfull staff
Dislikes:
bed quilts to hot for autumn weather
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Lindon
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very pleasant and relaxing. A good home from home."
We spent two nights here for a wedding at another venue a few miles away. It turned out to be nicer than the wedding venue so glad that was sold out.... Read more
"Very pleasant and relaxing. A good home from home."
We spent two nights here for a wedding at another venue a few miles away. It turned out to be nicer than the wedding venue so glad that was sold out. Read less
Likes:
The whole place was there to be used or not. It was up to you. Stay there for food and drink or go out and about. Staff were helpful either way. Rooms were comfortable enough to spend time in.
Dislikes:
Showers were noisy if you were having a lie in. Draught beers needed looking after better.
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Elaine
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly staff, pretty room but not such a good night's sleep!"
Came to Great Chesterford to meet up with friends who are moving away. Visited nearby Anglesey Abbey, which was lovely then relaxed in the Crown House garden late afternoon. After a meal out in the ... Read more
"Friendly staff, pretty room but not such a good night's sleep!"
Came to Great Chesterford to meet up with friends who are moving away. Visited nearby Anglesey Abbey, which was lovely then relaxed in the Crown House garden late afternoon. After a meal out in the village, we retired to our four-poster room. Read less
Likes:
The village is very pretty. The breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed relaxing in the garden.
Dislikes:
Squeaking floorboards and bed from the room above. The light flooded in the room due to the lightweight curtains and lack of blinds making it difficult to sleep. The bathroom needs upgrading.
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Don
Alone
Stayed: Aug '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Characterful hotel in a lovely setting with friendly staff."
The hotel is charming and characterful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable. I have stayed here 4 times now and each time has been great and a good night's sleep h... Read more
"Characterful hotel in a lovely setting with friendly staff."
The hotel is charming and characterful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable. I have stayed here 4 times now and each time has been great and a good night's sleep had. The food is very good. Much cheaper than the Holiday Inn Express just up the road. Read less
Likes:
The beds, the staff, the food, the character of the hotel.
Dislikes:
Nothing.
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Patricia
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Recommendation"
Not longbenough... Read more
"Recommendation"
Not longbenough Read less
Likes:
Everything
Dislikes:
No
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay with us and your kind comments. We are so pleased that your stay with us was all that we would wish it to be. We hope you have a chance to stay again.
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Harald
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Great room and delicious dinner."
Great room and delicious dinner.... Read more
"Great room and delicious dinner."
Great room and delicious dinner. Read less
Likes:
Great room and delicious dinner.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your dinner was so delicious. Thank you for saying that you would recommend us to a friend, we really appreciate that .
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Alan
Family with older Children
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly staff, extremely comfortable bed, delicious food"
Overnight stay before listening to our daughter in a concert.... Read more
"Friendly staff, extremely comfortable bed, delicious food"
Overnight stay before listening to our daughter in a concert. Read less
Likes:
Friendly staff, comfortable bed and a fabulous steak meal.
Dislikes:
If I'm absolutely honest, there were 2 things, both petty and unimportant. One, the bar atmosphere wasn't outstanding. Two, there was only Pre ground pepper with breakfast. Not exactly critical.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I agree with you about freshly ground black pepper with breakfast. Please just ask, it is available. If the bar is not busy,it can be very quiet, I am sorry about that,we could play some music, so we appreciate that feedback. We are however really pleased that you enjoyed your steak so much and that we made you feel welcome and that your room was comfortable, thank you for your kind comments, and suggestions.
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Jo
Young Couple
Stayed: Jul '17
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
"A couplestay"
We booked the stay as a treat. The room was described as superior on the website so we decided to book it. In reality it was standard and it wasn't located in the hotel but in "The Stables".... Read more
"A couplestay"
We booked the stay as a treat. The room was described as superior on the website so we decided to book it. In reality it was standard and it wasn't located in the hotel but in "The Stables". We were very disappointed and felt misled by the description. There was a very loud noise coming from next door room at night, which turned out to be the shower. When we used the shower in our bathroom it also made a loud noise so the neighbours must have heard it too. The stuff were helpful though. Read less
Likes:
The location.
Dislikes:
The hotel looks in need of updating.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We are sorry that you felt misled, but you were in a super king size bed,one of the largest rooms, with all facilities as described,therefore, in no way misled.The old style rooms are in the main building,rooms 10-18. Thank you for letting us know about the shower, we have investigated and not found any issues. We are sorry that you did not stay, especially as it was a treat we do care about our guests,
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
susan
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '17
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
2
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Only short break is all you could do at this hotel"
We stayed here as we wanted to go to a few local places like audley end and duxford which this hotel is good for and chosen.... Read more
"Only short break is all you could do at this hotel"
We stayed here as we wanted to go to a few local places like audley end and duxford which this hotel is good for and chosen. Read less
Likes:
Lovely staff who were very informative and accommodating.lovely breakfast and evening meal.
Dislikes:
The bedroom was up a spiral stair case not good with suitcases. The room needs updating and bathroom floor uneven. The bed very uncomfortable and could hear people in the other room and main road nois
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and your kind comments. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you contact the hotel ,we can try to sort out the best type of room to suit your needs, depending on availability. We are repainting the rooms during August & we do have a continual refurbishment programme. The hotel inspector stayed in that room last month and was fine, mattresses are difficult to get right for everyone, sorry you did not sleep wel
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Marek
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '17
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Tired but interesting hotel"
Convenient location, pleasant village. Good to be outside Cambridge in a (fairly) country setting. We were there to visit a relative and a short shopping trip into Cambridge by train.... Read more
"Tired but interesting hotel"
Convenient location, pleasant village. Good to be outside Cambridge in a (fairly) country setting. We were there to visit a relative and a short shopping trip into Cambridge by train. Read less
Likes:
Easy parking in the hotel grounds in an interesting old hotel with a garden.
Dislikes:
Poor beer ( lager) quality.. We were warned about this!
Not a destination for dinner either and fairly pricey.
One of the staff seemed to be struggling. Would recommend with reservations.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us, I am sorry to hear that the lager was not up to standard for you, we will look into that .I am sorry that your dining experience was not all we would wish it to be. We always ask guests to let us know if their meal is not as they would like it,and we ask diners during dinner if all is well.We do try to keep our dining costs as competitive as possible with other local restaurants. We appreciate that you would still recommend us to friends,
The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next

Ratings & Awards

AA 3 Stars HotelCertificate of ExcellenceBooking.com 2015 award  8 .2AA Quality Inspected 3 StarsBooking.com Guest Review Awards 2016

Guest Reviews

Overall rating: 4.3 out of 5
 We spent two nights here for a wedding at another venue a few miles away. It turned out to be nicer than the wedding venue so glad that was sold out. 
Lindon / Sep 17
Read more reviews